Engnology

Reflections of Blending English and Technology in the Classroom

Pleasant Surprise

with one comment

Tuesday marked the beginning of my sprint, not literally, but metaphorically. Along with introducing high school to the freshmen, I now was in a race to catch them up with all of the essential skills needed to manipulate their new classroom tool – the laptop. I started off basic – photobooth, to ichat, to transferring documents. That is where I lost them. By the end of my first freshmen class, I was frazzled; half of the students had the rules I transferred, and half were still trying to figure out how to access their downloads. At the end of the day I was exhausted, even after the extra help that showed up in my other two freshmen classes (some of the seniors I recruited who had study hall). I smiled, the only thing I could do to keep from crying, and realized how little the freshmen actually knew about technology. Sure, they all used it everyday, but they used technology to listen to music, facebook their friends, or search the internet. I had a lot to teach them to maximize the learning for the rest of the year. Wednesday started, and in bounced the freshmen, excited to come to class, eagerly unpacking their laptops. Today we would move to organization and manipulating a Pages document. I was about to begin the lesson when a student raised his hand and asked to share an i-movie he created the night before. Shocked, because we hadn’t even touched upon that application yet, I agreed and sat back as he hooked up his computer to the projector.

Wednesday I left with a smile and a new inspiration for a post!

Written by sfarnsworth

August 27, 2010 at 5:33 pm

Posted in 1:1 School, Students

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We assume so much because they have it at home and use it all the time in their lives.

    However, the reality is they still need the basics. We are 6-12 1to1 and in our third year. I noticed from the freshmen I have in my Web2.0 class that the “little” things are easier for them…but again, don’t assume anything.

    Nice video!

    Dominic Giegerich

    August 30, 2010 at 11:07 am


Leave a Reply

