Engnology

Reflections of Blending English and Technology in the Classroom

Blogging Community

with 3 comments

This summer I started my own blog with the intent on having my senior Creative Writing class blog throughout the semester on a topic of their choice. What started off as a collaboration with one teacher and school, Shawn Hyer from Van Meter, has grown to include 2 other schools and interest from a couple more. Currently Erin Olson from Sioux Centeral,  Mike Richman from MNW, Shawn and I  have embarked on connecting our students to create an interest in writing. Providing a real audience containing more members than the teacher and modeling effective response has helped create a community of young writers. Although purpose and grading may differ amongst the 4 teachers, engaging students, inspiring writers, and connecting kids through writing are the emerging benefits witnessed so far.

What we did:

1. Established a purpose and shared vision for a blogging community,

2. Created a Google Doc that was shared with all students. Students linked their blogs, and wrote a phrase describing their focus. This allows all students access to all the blogs 24/7.

3.  Set our own individual class blogging requirements.

4. Provided examples of blogs to students, links for consideration, guidance.

5. Explored WordPress and Blogger.

6. Modeled Response.

7. Gave them time to write.

Last week a few students and I google video chatted Mr. Richman’s freshmen class to answer questions and create excitement for the project. As I sat and listened to my students speak I beamed with pride. I had the typical ones who loved to write and have found enjoyment creating their blogs and connecting. The most satisfying comments came from my student Zach. He told me with certainty on the first day of class he hated writing and would hate this class – he is now singing a different tune. He has  multiple posts, written more than previous years, and has no problem admitting he was wrong -he enjoys the class. He loves the interaction with others, is constantly posting and responding to blogs and is going to present with me at an upcoming conference. The best part is, he is one of many students that have a similar story.

Blogging alone is a great place for students to write, reflect, and learn; but building a community of student bloggers who interact with each other regularly provides a purpose, audience and a connection that was lacking in my previous years.

Written by sfarnsworth

September 17, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Posted in 1:1 School, Students, Writing

Tagged with , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great Post. Definitely 21st Century Skills embedded in Meaningful Work! If I can speak for Manson Northwest Webster, we’re glad to learn and share together. It’s only September-a great year is ahead!

    Laura Horan

    September 17, 2010 at 4:42 pm

  2. My students are enjoying blogging. I am amazed by their enthusiasm. I am learning, too! I truly appreciate the support you have given me as I continue our 1:1 journey.

    Erin Olson

    September 17, 2010 at 7:14 pm

  3. Students will be grateful and thankful that’s for sure, that’s something that will be a blessing itself alone, adding with that is the teaching and opening their eyes into other dimensions and widening their imaginations, including a digital life.

    MIDDLE SON

    September 17, 2010 at 7:29 pm


Leave a Reply

